Southwest Airlines Announces New Destinations From Dallas Love Field

This post may contain affiliate links; please read our advertiser disclosure for more information.


Southwest announced that they will begin offering service to fifteen destinations from Love Field this year. On October 13, 2014 they will launch service to five new cities with ten additional cities following on November 2, 2014.

Previously Southwest had been limited to offering service to only 9 states because of the Wright Amendment. The Amendment limited flights to/from Dallas Love Field. Despite the fact that it was repealed in 2006, some restrictions remain in effect until October 13, 2014.

New Destinations

Beginning Oct. 13, 2014, Southwest Airlines will launch nonstop service from Dallas Love Field to:

  • Baltimore/Washington (BWI)
  • Denver
  • Las Vegas
  • Orlando
  • Chicago Midway

Beginning Nov. 2, 2014, Southwest Airlines will launch nonstop service from Dallas Love Field to:

  • Atlanta
  • Nashville
  • Washington, D.C. (Reagan National)
  • Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood
  • Los Angeles (LAX)
  • New York (LaGuardia)
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • Orange County/Santa Ana
  • Tampa


This is good news for those who fly a lot into the Dallas area.  We may even see some price wars as Southwest’s new service comes online.  As someone who lives in one of the newly launched cities, I will be looking at this carefully.  You can find the full press release here.


Responses are not provided or commissioned by the bank advertiser. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here